Showing posts with label Granite. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Granite. Show all posts

Saturday, September 13, 2014

Behind the Blogger: Why on Earth do People Install Tiny Kitchen Sinks? (UPDATED)

UPDATED 09/05/14, 09/13/14

I may have written about this subject before, but if I have, it is my insatiable curiosity for why so many people apparently intentionally hobble their kitchens! I do a lot of looking at houses online, both out of curiosity, and because I'm planning for the future. There's a strong possibility that we'll be moving to a different state in the next couple of years, and I'm trying to get a feel for what's out there.

See what I mean?
At the same time, we've recently done some home renovations, so I am familiar with the decision making process when doing so. Picking countertops, faucets and sinks--for instance--takes a lot of research, comparison shopping, compromises, and weighing pros and cons. We were stuck between a 60/40 split kitchen sink, and a large single-basin for our kitchen. We settled on the 60/40, with the large side for doing dishes, and the small side to hold a dish drainer. We love it, it works for us. But our friends opted for a large single basin that could hold their cookie sheets, and roasting pans, etc. For the record, our large basin holds almost everything we use (including a turkey roaster), but we're not gourmet cooks, just your usual workaday types.


Looks a little wider, but still. . . At least it does
have a tall faucet.
A large single basin was our second choice, but for the way we do things, we would have had to store a dish rack on the counter, or make room under the sink. Ditto for a rubber wash tub, because you wouldn't want to be filling that huge sink up every time you do dishes, right? Oh, and by the way, we do have a dishwasher, but there are several items we don't put in there, and some things the dishwasher just doesn't clean well. Anyway. . .

To get to the meat of my irritation, whenever I look at houses on Zillow, particularly in Baltimore (but also in other cities), it is the kitchens that are the make-or-break the property for me. Having just completed our counter/sink/faucet/fridge/microwave overhaul, I just can't go back. Not unless the rest of the property just knocks me out. But in even 90% of the houses with great or passable kitchens, I am sure to find a single basin sink. A tiny, single-basin sink. They might be deep, they might be shallow, but they're like 20" wide, over a cabinet space that will hold a 30"-35" wide sink.

The "before" sink in our house, used for about
15 years.
My question: Why on EARTH would you intentionally hobble your kitchen in this way? And why are so many people doing it? Was there a fad or hot kitchen trend for tiny sinks? Was there a surplus? I can't stand it, I want to know! Is there a water shortage in Baltimore and surrounding areas? Do none of these people cook or do dishes?


And while we're at it, here's another question. Tiny sink or not, why would you redo your kitchen counters, and drop in a top-mount, ugly, tinny, $75-range, Home Depot sink? And then, put one of those hideous, 4"-arched, 70s-era faucets? And I'll go further!!! Those tiny, 4" nubbin-sized, crystal-plastic-knobbed bathroom faucets? Okay, okay, YES, we did too, before the renovation. Though after, I marveled that we kept them for so long. Faucets aren't that expensive. Who decided that the standard sizes would be little, cramped things with no utility? Arrgghh. But, I'm getting off on a tangent. The core question, somebody please explain to me: Why did little, tiny, single-basin sinks in kitchens become a thing?
Whether it's a double like ours, or a single, why go small?
UPDATED 09/05/14: I still haven't found anything online, or gotten any responses for my central question. Why do people do this? What's the deal?

Why does it bother me? Because I get daily alerts via email from Zillow.com, and I keep running across great houses with gorgeous kitchens and tiny, stupid sinks, that's why! Scroll down, I'm gonna keep adding pictures to this post every so often until I get an answer!

Tiny Sink Update #1
Tiny Sink Update #2
 
Tiny Sink Update #3

Tiny Sink Update #4
Tiny Sink Update #5

Tiny Sink Update #6
 

Friday, June 20, 2014

Kitchen Update: Remodeling is Guesswork

Okay, so I have this habit, see. Whenever I make a major purchase, I second and third-guess myself. In other words, I shop for things after I buy them. To make sure I got a good deal, and to berate myself for being suckered by a sale or promotion for one. But also to determine if I made a good decision. I do this less if I spent a long time researching prior to purchase. More often, however, my purchases tend to either be more impulsive, or more urgent, and I lack the time before hand to make sure I'm getting what I should.


The original Maytag Ice2O. Note the handles.
This is how quickly trends change.
 
I've found that I usually do all right, a solid B grade in my choices. The sale price (ending tomorrow, seemingly always) often turns out to be ultimately a good deal, but not unsurpassed. When I upgraded our kitchen in 2006/2007, I hit about .500 on my choices. The Frigidaire Professional Series over-the-stove microwave was a great purchase, as was the Frigidaire Gallery Series gas range (with five burners). I love them to this day, and they were both stainless steel with black enamel. That was important, because the first purchase had been a black Maytag Ice2O refrigerator, and they matched just fine.

Ice2O was the first of its kind, a French door, bottom freezer model, with an ice and water dispenser through the door. I fell in love with the look of it, and made it a goal as soon as I saw the first one. I'd wanted a stainless steel model, and kept my eyes open for one. When I finally had the urge to buy one, I found a floor model at Home Depot, at a great discount. It was a black model, rather than stainless, but the price was so good, I compromised.

I should have waited. As I've said on the blog before, it was not a good choice. Being a floor model, it had some flaws. Some--like the dents on the side--didn't matter, because they really didn't show. Some, like the permanent marks from the installation of the handles, and the non-balancing, damaged rollers, were not so good. Add to those, the fact that there were built-in problems, like a tendency for the waterline to freeze, and for the control panel to become possessed at some random time. So, with little warning, the refrigerator had to be replaced*.
The new fridge, a Whirlpool Gold Series. See
the long, swoopy handles?
Also to be replaced was our Frigidare (I don't know what series, crap, maybe?) dishwasher. Bought along with the stove and microwave, initially we were pleased with it. Mostly because it replaced an entry-level, awful, noisy model. But over time (and very quickly), it developed as much noise, and the inability to. . .you know. . .wash stuff. It sucked. So, we bought two new appliances, basically 7 years after the most recent purchases.

We ended up with a Kenmore (made by Whirlpool) dishwasher first, all stainless, no visible controls, and a Whirlpool French door refrigerator, very much like the Ice2O, but also all stainless. So far, both are great additions to the kitchen, with completely by accident, matching handles. The dishwasher is frankly quieter than the fridge, and does a fantastic job washing dishes. ALWAYS, always, always put an extra couple of hundred dollars on a dishwasher if you can. You'll absorb the cost in a couple of months, and it will
Awful, awful builder sink and faucet
be worth it in the long run.

But part of my obsession with figuring out if I did all right, comes with Google searching everything, down to, is this stuff even in style anymore? And because I do this, I thought I'd share a bit of what I found with you. So, herewith are my suggestions for you, should you happen by this column, doing what I always do:

- Buy what you like, and don't pay attention to the reviews you find online, at least when it comes to style. If you search for kitchen trends, you'll find things that span the gamut, but they've been warning that stainless steel is going out of fashion for at least seven years. If you go to any appliance section of any store, you will see  a sea of stainless, some black, some white, and a smattering of colors. Stainless isn't going anywhere.
The new sink, faucet and granite.
- The same goes for granite countertops. People have been predicting that they're going out of style for a decade. But they're not. And all of the new surfaces? They're attractive, but trendy. How do you know that butcher block, concrete or stainless counter isn't going to look "so 2010s" ten years from now? My advice on granite though, is go up a notch if you can. And stay away from bullnose edges, mostly. Tan Brown, Uba Tuba, Baltic Brown, and other "entry level" granites are very common, and that bullnose has been used in so many apartments, I just advise against it. Go for a little more unique granite, with a ogee or beveled edge.
- Under-mount your sink, and consider how you'll use it before you commit. We spent a lot on our sink, but we got a seamless drain (for no crud buildup around the drain), and a thick gauge steel, so there isn't much noise. We also got a large, deep basin for washing dishes, and a smaller one for a dish rack. It's how we work. And consider if you work left-to-right, or right-to-left. Others prefer a single, deep basin, with a washtub for dishes.
- Get a tall, unobstructed faucet for the sink. Coupled with a deep basin, you'll marvel at what you can fit entirely in the sink. Roasting pans, cookie sheets, stock pots. It's a great addition, and you'll wonder why the hell builders put in those low, ugly fixtures.
The old Formica.

The new Crema Bordeaux granite, before we
put the drawers back in.
- There are going to be things you can't foresee. For instance, there was no way to know that the Ice2O had built-in design flaws. There certainly was no way to know that the trends in something like door-handles would change. Check out the handles in my photos here of the older, black fridge, as compared to the swooping handles on the new one. I even noticed the handles on our mid-90s garage fridge we just sold were significantly different from later, 2000s models. That's something you've got little control over, when keeping your kitchen current.
- If you're upgrading counters and appliances, don't forget your light fixtures. Of all the spending on kitchen stuff, light fixtures are relatively inexpensive, and can really make an impression. Especially if you still have the fixtures the builder put in.
- Once you get started upgrading, even if you don't to a tear-out (we left our cabinets), you will have difficulty stopping. We replaced the fridge, dishwasher, countertops, sink, light fixtures, as well as the faucet, trash can and bar stools. And that doesn't count the two bathrooms, and carpets in the bedrooms!

So, for now, we think we're pretty much done. The last thing, probably to be done later this year, is to upgrade the cabinets, by having them stained (as a neighbor of ours did to great effect), with the addition of  crown molding across the top, and stainless pulls for the doors and drawers. This is probably the single biggest risk, trend-wise. Because there seems to be no way to predict where cabinet trends will go.

* MAYTAG ICE2O SIDEBAR
If you are an unlucky owner of the original Maytag Ice2O refrigerator, and you have not had this problem, you very likely will. In fact, if you Google "blinking control panel, flapping ice door" it will bring up countless pages specifically on this refrigerator. But I have good news for you, if you haven't yet paid to have it fixed: if you have $5 and know someone who knows how to solder, you can fix it, and it takes very little time and effort. You just buy two little cylindrical capacitors at Radio Shack, and replace the ones on the (very easy to remove) circuit board. Here is the link to the instructions. Don't even bother calling Maytag or even the cute new Maytag repairman.

Monday, March 3, 2014

So, Here's Why I Haven't Been Blogging Much

The odyssey of our home transformation (of sorts) started late last year. After our house finally started edging into the black after having been upside-down financially for several years, we started both a) feeling a little pride of ownership again, and b) feeling a bit sour about things that had been  the same since forever.

Though we've been planning on several tracks, our first step came out of a bit of sideways thinking while looking for something else. On a whim, I drove up to the RC Willey outlet store, on a quest for nothing in particular, but with an appropriate vehicle for bringing something back. I ended up buying a glider/recliner that would replace a very old green armchair. More than merely replacing old furniture, this chair allows both myself and The Other Half to read comfortably together in the same room. Perfect for a long, luxurious weekend day when we have nothing on the agenda.

Around the same time, we knew we'd have to replace our old bar stools around the kitchen island (our only permanent eating space). The old ones were very high quality, very sturdy chairs with arms, but they were hopelessly stuck in the early 90s. No amount of resurfacing and reupholstering would bring them into the 2010s, so they were kicked to the curb. We actually found the ones we liked at Sam's Club, and as luck would have it, three were obtained as returns! Woohoo, a few saved bucks!

That done, we decided that our old rattan chair needed a makeover or a replacement. We found a seamstress on Craigslist, and went the recovering route, and ended up with a nice change, a hipper fabric that went better in the room. So far, so good! Excess fabric has been sent to a relative for some throw pillows in the near future, along with some valances. That will be the finishing touch, sometime soon. Meanwhile, the really big change, was the granite.

A little bit of luck struck us with a bit of trade (along with a little of our own funding) from a friend, allowing us to install some amazing granite in our kitchen, and in our bathrooms. We went with a Crema Bordeuax in the two biggest rooms, and a scrapyard remnant in our guest bath. Surprisingly, the scrap is nearly as lovely as the higher-end stuff! It really looks great. Of course, you can't just put the old sinks and faucets back, so we needed some basins and hardware.

We settled on three sets of identical bathroom faucets in brushed nickel, and a big, sturdy nickel one in the kitchen. We opted for rectangular basins in the extremely long vanity in the master, and a nice oval in the guest bath. The kitchen got one of our more extravagant purchases, a seamless 60/40 undermount stainless deep kitchen sink. And don't forget the new garbage disposer!

All of this was finished by the middle of last week. Juggling work and remodel, I arranged to have some friends around to fill in the gaps, and make sure everything got installed just right. And by all rights, by Tuesday night, I should have been finished. Well, except for restocking the shelves and drawers in the kitchen and bathroom, since we'd cleared everything out before the contractors got here.


But we weren't done. We had those ugly "Hollywood dressing room"-style bathroom lights, builder-quality from 1996. And we had mostly the original, standard bathroom hardware (towel racks, toilet paper holder, etc.) from the same year.  Think: every apartment you've ever lived in, much like our original sinks and countertops. So, over the weekend we purchased and installed (2) towel rods, (2) hand towel loops, (1) toilet paper holder, (1) halogen decorative light fixture, (1) dimmer switch and (2) standard light fixtures!

So, obviously, we're spending money as though we have it (which may pinch for a few months, let's be honest), and though we're basically finished, there are still a few tasks, some optional, some crucial. The biggest one is that The Other Half has been splashing paint around, getting a feel for new colors. So, we're basically committed to repainting some rooms. The dimmer switch I bought is not
the push-on type, so I'll be switching that out. There may be some adjustments to rugs and towels, and maybe a few other accessories. And by year's end, probably some kitchen lighting changes. Other than that, we're just about done!

So, hopefully after all of that, you can see why I haven't had a lot of time for blogging!  But I should be back to full strength--such as it is--by Monday evening. I will try!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...