Showing posts with label Auto Industry. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Auto Industry. Show all posts

Friday, August 10, 2012

Romney Campaign Continues to Distort

Image from ThinkProgress
This is getting ridiculous. Are they seriously going to carry this campaign through to November with a series of ads that take their potential voters for fools? I mean I know there is a subset of the American public that is eager to believe any and every negative thing they hear about President Obama. But not everyone has Obama Derangement Syndrome, and not everyone is willing to be spoon-fed distortion and lies. Or at least I hope so.

[Excerpt]

New Romney Campaign Distortion: Falsely Claims Obama ‘Promised Today To Bail Out Every Industry’

The Romney campaign, which has apparently exhausted the selectively edited clip of President Obama saying “you didn’t build that,” has seized on a new soundbite to distort. The campaign sent an email blast Thursday afternoon featuring a video of an Obama rally in Colorado from earlier that day and falsely claimed that he wants the government to bail out every industry. “I Want To Do The Same Thing With Manufacturing Jobs … In Every Industry,” it read. . .

Read more at: Think Progress

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

My Car is Dead: Mitsubishi is Moving On

It was inevitable, I know. There is a limited window in which you can drive a car that is current, one that hasn't been replaced, upgraded, or facelifted beyond your car's current visage. My 2009 Mitsubishi Galant is identical to the 2010 and 2011 models except for some minor differences in the grille and the headlamps. We're talking some plastic bits here. But soon, very soon, my car will not only be not current, it will no longer be made at all! I'll be with those sad Pontiac, Saturn and Mercury owners. . .orphaned! I'm a victim!

[Excerpt]

Mitsubishi Planning to Build Lancer-Based Models in the US, Axe Galant and Eclipse



. . .According to Automotive News, Mitsubishi will build vehicles based on the Lancer/Outlander platform at the Normal, Ill. facility in two years time. As a result, the current models being built there could get the axe entirely. They include the Galant, Endeavor, Eclipse and Eclipse Spyder. . .
 
Read more at: AutoGuide.com

UPDATE 06/15/12: I was at Courtesy Imports last weekend for an oil change, and they had at least five new 2012 Galants, in basic and in tricked-out versions. They may be killing this car, but they're killing it slowly. Thats 2004-2012 with only modest redesigns. Nine seasons. Way to milk it, Mitsubishi!

Saturday, December 4, 2010

My Car (Mitsubishi Galant) Makes Canada's Worst Sellers List

I just paid my tenth payment on my three-year loan for the 2009 Mitsubishi Galant I bought to replace my 1998 Jeep Wrangler Sport. After driving the Jeep for nine years, I decided that the repair and maintenance costs were just too high, and bought a new(ish) car. Even after ten months, I still view it as my "new" car, and I'm still digging it.

But I know it isn't a crowd-pleaser. It is in the same class with the Toyota Camry, the Honda Accord, the Nissan Maxima and Altima, the Mazda 6, the Ford Fusion, the Hyundai Sonata and the Kia Optima. It's prettier than the Optima (at least of its age), and the Fusion. It's comfortable, has reasonable acceleration and gas mileage, and kills my old Jeep in countless comparisons. But the front end looks kind of brutish, and the car is basically the same (if a bit better looking) as when it debuted in 2003 as a 2004 model. That's a loooong time in car years.

The Mitsubishi Galant is in its eighth year of production in its current form, which is not usual for car models. Usually, a car goes through 4-year cycles, and is then completely redesigned. Around year two, they do a facelift/butt-lift, and then at year four you get a whole new car. The Galant got the plastic surgery treatment (sorely needed, what with the ugly nose and taillights it used to have) in 2007 and again in 2009. But in 2010, they just swapped out the black louvered grille (which I have) to a chromed plastic mesh thingy, and a little smoky film on the headlamps.  The 2010 and 2011 cars are identical, and essentially the same as my (now) two-to-three year old car.  So it's really no surprise that the car is not a huge seller. You can get away with keeping a van or a truck essentially the same for 10+ years, but a car for eight? Almost unheard of.

[Excerpt]

Auto-industry dogs: Canada’s worst-sellers list released

The Honda Civic is again the best-selling new car in Canada this year (49,000 sold) , with the Ford F-150 pickup being the top vehicle seller overall (85,000).


But what’s the worst-selling car to date in Canada?


Glad you asked, says respected Canadian automotive journalist, John Leblanc, who lists the Acura RL luxury sedan as this year’s biggest automotive dog in the Canadian market, with just 33 sold. Leblanc’s 10 Worst Selling New Cars in Canada in 2010 list appeared in the nation’s largest-circulation newspaper, the Toronto Star, this week. . .

Read more at: MarketWatch

Saturday, April 25, 2009

American Cars I'd Totally Buy

Dodge Challenger. Ford Mustang. Chevy Camero. Jeep Wrangler. All American icons, all cars I'd own in a heartbeat. Who says I'm an America hating libtard? Because I'm all about buying American. Seriously.






Wednesday, February 18, 2009

GM Killing off Brands


Image from source, Jalopnik

It's kind of strange to think that Pontiac as a brand is about to shrink away to mostly nothing. Saturn? They made mostly ugly cars until recently, and I never understood how they made it anyway. And Hummer should've died of embarrassment long ago.

It just goes to show you, absolutely nothing is permanent. Today's rock-solid brand is tomorrow's Plymouth, AMC or Oldsmobile. Remember them? My prediction: Mercury is next. Just a hunch.

[Excerpt]


Our sources tell us GM's viability plan set to be released at 5:00PM will kill the Saturn brand by 2011. Pontiac will also go away as a division. But the nameplate will sorta live on. . .

Source: JLOPnik


Tuesday, February 17, 2009

GM & Chrysler Ask for More


Photo from PowerLine (of all places)

Everybody's got there hand out. But what is the answer when saying "No!" might result in the extinction of the American auto industry, and hundreds of thousands of jobs? Man, does Barack Obama have a full plate.

[Excerpt]

GM, Chrysler ask for $21.6 billion more

General Motors and Chrysler LLC said Tuesday they could need an additional $21.6 billion in federal loans between them because of worsening demand for their cars and trucks. . .

Read more at: CNN
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...