Showing posts with label Toyota. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Toyota. Show all posts

Monday, February 20, 2012

Blast from the Past: The Cars I've Owned!

I've previously run (and rerun) a blog post on the cars I've owned. But I never tried to find commercials for them all. I think it's about time I did!



1. My first car was a 1973(ish) Toyota Corolla. This ad misses the mark by about six years. But I'm still not sure if it was a '73, '74 or '75.
2. My second car was a 1980 Datsun 210. The one in the ad is a year older-- and a hatchback--where mine had a trunk. But close!



3. My third car, a present for graduation, was a 1978 Dodge Colt Station Wagon. Try to find a commercial for THAT! And believe it or not I did, but missed it by a year. Mine did NOT have faux wood grain sides, however.
4. This was the first car I bought for myself, the 1980 Toyota Celica. And while the commercial is EXCATLY the right year and car. . .they used a 1979 model for the ad! You can tell, because the '80 had rectangular headlights and a different grille.



5. After paying off my first car, I got restless and bought an '86 Chevrolet Cavalier at auction (for $2490!), only two years old. Mine was the red, sporty model.
6. My sixth car was an ill-advised purchase, also at auction. The '87 Nissan Pulsar was cute, but it leaked and had all sorts of problems.



7. When my Pulsar threw a timing chain, and turned into sculpture, I bought a 1989 Mazda 626 Turbo hatchback. Loved that car! In Japan, it was apparently called the Capella, as shown in this ad.
8. After the Mazda was near death, I bought a 1998 Jeep Wrangler, which had been a vehicle I'd wanted all my life. Since I held onto it for nine years, you can be sure I loved it. But all good things must come to an end. . .



9. And we come to my current car, which is oddly enough, currently at the body shop after a minor collision. The 2009 Mitsubishi Galant--which is only superficially different from the 2010, 2011 and 2012 Galant--may not win any awards, but I love it. And I don't expect to add a tenth car for a while.

So, that's it for now. Happy Monday!

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

More Toyota Woes


Image from LATimes

Another Toyota recall? Well, at least they didn't stonewall this time. Thanks to Stupid Monkey Planet for the link.

[Excerpt]

Toyota suspends sales of Lexus GX 460

Toyota asked dealers to temporarily suspend sales of the new 2010 Lexus GX 460 after Consumer Reports issued a safety warning on the SUV.

"We are taking the situation with the GX 460 very seriously and are determined to identify and correct the issue Consumer Reports identified," said Mark Templin, Lexus Group vice president and general manager, in a prepared statement. . .

Read more at: CNN


Saturday, March 6, 2010

In Defense of the Mitsubishi Galant



[UPDATE: I finally got my camera and computer to cooperate, so here are some glamor shots of my car! Click picture to embiggen!]

As I've already posted previously, I recently exchanged my 1998 Jeep Wrangler--proud owner for 9 years--for a 2009 Mitsubishi Galant. I wasn't looking for this particular model. It sort of snuck up on me. I'd gone, at the behest of The Other Half, to the dealership to check out a special they were running on Kia Optimas. It was $3,000 off, and the special ended that night. So, I went, and I test drove the thing.

Bo-o-o-r-r-r-ring! I was totally underwhelmed by the car, as was TOH. So, we decided to go take a look at the used cars. There, my designated dealer lead me to the 2009 Mitsubishi Galant. This one had 30,000+ miles on it, and was $14,999. I liked it, but the miles were too steep. No problem! They had two more, and they both had 16,000 miles on them for around the same price. Cool. I test drove a red one, and liked it. A lot.

Keep in mind, I'd been driving a Jeep. A bouncy, rough and tumble Jeep. So driving a mid-size car was a dramatic departure. And thinking of the service my Jeep needed that week, my mind was quickly being made up for me. Had they shown me a Toyota Camry or a Honda Accord, would I have been as ready to buy? Maybe. Probably. But neither of those cars would have been as cheap in the same model year and mileage.

I ultimately made the purchase, at a slightly steeper than average price, though I got a good trade-in. And I have been for the most part extremely satisfied with my purchase. The only drawback? The automotive press' reviews of my automobile. They are uniformly moderate-to-negative. See, even though my car is only a year old, the model was introduced in late 2003. . .seven years ago. It has since had a modest and then a more dramatic face lift, first in 2007 and then in 2009. But it remains--cosmetics aside--essentially the same car.

For some reason, there is an abundance of 2009 Mitsubishi Galant ES models for sale in Las Vegas. And by abundance, I mean a dozen or so. But there are no SE (sports edition) or Ralliart (super-duper sports edition) models at all. I'm curious and perplexed by this. Is it regional or something? I dunno. So, I find out after my purchase that my model is the base model, and it is considered blah by MotorTrend and Automobile and Edmunds. Meh.

I look at my car out in the garage, and I smile. It's pretty. It's sleek. It has a forward stance, looks aggressive. Driving it, there is no problem getting up to speed in residential areas or on the freeway. It's smooth (at least compared to the Jeep). It has the power windows and locks. It's roomy and comfortable. And on those rare occasions that I see other (usually older) Galants, I'm impressed at the facelift and butt-lift the car got in 2009.

They took the front end, and got rid of the strange nose that came out in 2003 (2004 model), and put a nice Maxima-like grille on it. They sculpted and molded the hood and bumper to make sense of some lines that were originally kind of confused. They inexplicably kept the headlights, which are a little old-school. And in the back end, they totally transformed the sort of Dodge Charger-like rear into a more Lexus-y looking tushy. Some widening of the back window and a little creasing action to the cowl and trunk lid completed a nifty transformation of the rear view.

All in all, I'm very happy with my choice. I like the fact that I'm driving something bordering on unique. I especially like that the previous owner elected for no badging outside of the Mitsubishi "three diamond" logo, rendering the car something of an enigma. But I'm a little deflated to know that the car is on the "worst sellers" list. That Mitsubishi is not only not planning to continue the car, but seemingly is ready to abandon the whole mid-size segment. So my ninth generation Galant is likely the last of its kind. The upshot of that, is that there will not be a tenth generation to supplant it. Mine's the newest! Well, outside of the 2010s, which look exactly the same.

The competitors to my car are the Toyota Camry (lookout, it won't stop!), the Honda Accord (boring), the Ford Fusion (over-sized Focus), the Mazda 6 (sexy!), the Hyundai Sonata (decent, but soon to be supplanted by the awesome 2011 version), the Kia Optima (snooooooze), the Nissan Altima (super sexy) and Maxima (very similar to my car), and the Chevrolet Impala and Malibu (both rental car bland). Of those, I'd take either Nissan and the Mazda. The Sonata is also still a favorite. But my Mitsubishi is likely mine for the next 5-10 years, and I have no--or relatively no--qualms about that.


Monday, February 8, 2010

Cars I've Owned (UPDATED)

This is a re-posting of piece I put up a while ago, on the various cars I've owned. It was inspired by a few other similar write-ups I'd seen around the internets. I've since found a few photos of the actual cars, and decided to put them in this revised piece. Personal photos of my own cars are larger. And since I got a new car last week, I thought it was only appropriate that I add it to my list. It's only been nine years!

Have you ever tried to compile a list of all the cars you've owned? It's more difficult than you might think. And finding the pictures is even more difficult.* Here's my list [years driven in brackets]:


#1 - 1975 Toyota Corolla [1982]
- Mine was yellow, had a good deal of rust, a black vinyl interior, no air conditioning, automatic transmission and an AM radio. It was one of Mom & Dad's "fixer-uppers," bought on the cheap for runabout use and then resale. It was loaned to me instead of the blue VW Beetle that had been promised to me--which was sold before I turned 16. Dad & I pulled a FM radio from the junkyard and installed it. . .but it only had 1 dash speaker! I did learn that songs meant for stereo (Monday Monday, Twist & Shout) are kind of hilarious out of one speaker.

#2 - 1980 Datsun 210 [1982 - 1984] - Red 2-door with a nice comfy black vinyl interior, FM stereo, air conditioning and a stick shift. Which meant I had to learn to drive stick--a challenge for uncoordinated little me. Mom & Dad loaned me this one too, an identical situation to #1. But this one was only 2 years old at the time and had square headlights! How cool! Trashed the right side of the car, and had to have it fixed before Dad got home from a trip. Pulled that off, and then the neighbor creamed the left side!

#3 - 1978 Dodge Colt Station Wagon [1984-1985] - My graduation gift was a bit of a step back, two years older (plus two years later), and it was a silver station wagon. I made the best of it. I removed the AM radio, installed an under dash AM/FM/Cassette player, and speakers in the doors. I blacked out all the chrome, and rocker panels. It was certainly not cool, but I got by. This was my only 4-speed manual transmission. Blew the engine, 'cause I was a reluctant oil-changer. Oops.

#4 - 1980 Toyota Celica GT Liftback [1985-1988] - This is the first car I purchased myself, with my own loan. I loved this car, even if it did have a large discolored spot on one side, and so much rust underneath that Dad was amazed I didn't fall through the floor. It was silver, a 5-speed, had cloth interior, air conditioning, but only an AM/FM radio. I blacked out the chrome and rocker panels again, but this time it looked cool. It was the first car I ever bought and paid for myself (although, with a co-sign from Dad!). It had a broken gas gauge, so I had to use the trip-odometer to calculate fill-up time!

#5 - 1986 Chevrolet Cavalier RS [1988-1991] - My first car that seemed like a grown-up's car. Not a dream car, but only two years old, and an excellent deal bought at auction. And this was the first model that took the stodgy Cavalier, and made it semi-cool. It was red, had a nifty dash, a cool luggage rack on the trunk, and no chrome. It was a 5-speed manual, but a dog going up hills. Nice red cloth interior and upgraded dash were eye-catching though. Oh, and only an AM/FM radio again. My sister got this car after me, and drove it into the ground!

#6 - 1988 Nissan Pulsar NX SE [1991-1994] - Back to a sporty red number, with T-tops, a cockpit interior, and an allegedly removable hatch back. This was a two-seater, very sporty with dual over-head cam 16 valve engine, 5-speed transmission, and--yep--AM/FM stereo--no tapes or CDs. This car was a maintenance nightmare. And it leaked. And it eventually became little more than a sculpture after its timing belt broke. But it looked cool. Oh, and I forgot, I had a run-in with a ditch in the winter (might have been around the time of the photo), and had another car land on TOP of it.

#7 - 1972(?) Mercedes Diesel Sedan [1991] - The first and only time I had two cars. Mom gave me this car, which she had purchased from a little old lady who only drove it on Sundays--literally. It was dark green, and looked very cool. But the car had been sitting outside in Ohio for years, with no maintenance. I drove it to my house, and it promptly lost its timing chain. I gave it to a coworker for free, and he eventually had to pay somebody to take it. A real lost opportunity.

#8 - 1989 Mazda 626 Turbo [1994-2000] - Beautiful car, it looked very similar to the Audis of its day. And with the turbo, it was amazingly zippy. It was back to the automatic transmission, but had a gorgeous interior, and was quite a ride. My only complaint was the driver's arm rest, which was torture. Oh, and the air conditioning absolutely could not keep up with Nevada heat. And the fact that once it started to wear out (at 190,000+ miles), it really decided to wear out. Two, two, TWO transmission replacements! It had a tape deck, but it ate tapes. Can't believe I can't find a photo of mine to post. . .mine was cooler, with cast aluminum wheels.

#9 - 1998 Jeep Wrangler Sport [2000-2010] - My previous ride was always my dream vehicle. I loved it, warts, rough ride and all. It was red, with a removable hard top, with full doors, custom bumpers and side steps, and a (worn, and covered by fake tiger-skin!) leather interior. It was my first (and only) 6-cylinder, with a 5-speed transmission, and get this--no air conditioner. Which even in Las Vegas is no big whoop, since I took the doors and top off every summer. It came with a Mopar tape-eating AM/FM player, but I replaced it with a CD-player. The 4-wheel drive honestly didn't get much use, but was great in the rain. It was very pricey in its final years, with a series of fixes and maintenance issues. I'll miss it, but I won't miss the cost and hassle of repairs. With only 52,000 miles on it, you'd think it would have had better reliability.


#10 - 2009 Mitsubishi Galant ES [2010- ] Finally, a car made in this century! With the Jeep facing even more repairs, we finally bit the bullet and bought a new (well, slightly used) car. It is a rust-red (redder in person) 4-door sedan, but has a slightly forward stance, and a nicely updated nose and tail from earlier models. It is at once unassuming and different. Non-car people will not know what it is (largely because it has no identifying badging outside of the Mitsubishi 3-diamond logos), and you don't see them all over the place like Camrys or Accords. Many reviews will tell you that the Galant is an also-ran in the midsize car segment, but after driving a rugged, creaky, bouncy Jeep for nine years? Smooth as silk and an upgrade in all areas. I'll miss you, Jeepie, but the new Galant (nicknamed "Rusty") is my new girl. Guy? Haven't decided yet!



Honerable Mentions - Early 70s 4-door Nova, my brother's car I drove for a month when mine was down. Early 70s Toyota Corolla, my brother's car I drove for another month when mine was down and his license was suspended (I nearly totalled it!). 1990 Nissan Stanza, rented for a month when I lived in LA. And The Other Half's cars, 1991 Mazda 626, 2000 VW GTI, and 2003 VW Golf (pictured with my Jeep above).

That's it! For now, until the next dream vehicle catches my eye.


*Photos culled from all over the internet. I've lost the attributions, and hope that nobody minds. If I've used one of your photos, and you'd like it attributed (or removed), please contact me at the email address at the upper left of the page. Thanks.

Thursday, February 4, 2010

Man Drives Thru Edgewater Casino in Laughlin, NV; Killing Two


Image from source, LasVegasNow

Thanks to Stupid Monkey Planet for the following two links, which may--I say may--be connected. No allegation from me, Mr. Toyota lawyer, just an interesting conflagration of stories.

[Excerpt]

Car Crashes Into Edgewater Casino Killing 2, Injuring 9

LAUGHLIN, Nev. -- Police are blaming a driver's medical episode for a crash that killed two people at the Edgewater Casino in Laughlin, Nevada.

Witnesses say the car, driven by 70-year-old Walter McGie, was speeding down the road before crashing through the front doors of the casino. McGie was taken to the hospital to be checked out, but is ok. He was later arrested and charged with two counts of felony reckless driving causing death. . .

The car was a Pontiac Vibe.

[Excerpt]

Pontiac Vibe Recall 2010: GM Pulls Cars As Part Of Toyota Recall

A Pontiac Vibe recall has been announced as a result of the massive 2010 Toyota Recall a week ago. . .

Read more at: Las Vegas Now and Huffington Post


Sunday, December 9, 2007

Car Porn? Toyota Suing Porn Star "Lexus"


Photo from source, PageOneQ (with edits!)

This is only the second or third "beefcake" shot in the 1,200+ post history of this blog. And I'm posting it because I find this sort of hilarious.

Apparently, Toyota has it's bumpers in a knot over the fact that a gay porn star is using the name "Lexus," which is the same name as their luxury brand. So they're suing. If you remember back to the Lexus division's creation, Toyota had to fight off at least two different lawsuits for essentially the same thing: copyright infringement.

One suit was from the Mead paper company, which carried a paper stock called "Lexis." The other suit was from the search engine, "LexisNexis." Both cases were dropped because nobody thought anyone would confuse a ream of paper or a web service with a car. Duh. Does Toyota think that someone would confuse a gay porn star with an RX 330?

[Excerpt]

Toyota Threatens Legal Action Over Gay Porn Star Named 'Lexus'

What does Toyota have to do with gay porn? A lot, apparently. The U.S. branch of the Japanese automaker recently sent a communiqué to Daniel Grangier, president and CEO of Switzerland-based EBOYS Studios, regarding one of his stars, who goes by the screen name 'Lexus'. . .

Read more at: PageOneQ
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...