Showing posts with label Republicans in Exile. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Republicans in Exile. Show all posts

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

One Last Word on Health Care Reform and Republicans


Image from source, CBS News

OK, that is probably a promise I won't be able to keep, but I'll try to have this be the last post on the subject for at least the next few posts, OK? And yeah, I'm aware that my attitude about Republicans might change as we get closer to November. Oh, my opinion of them won't improve, but I acknowledge that they may become more formidable, election-wise.

I don't think it's going to be quite the bloodbath the GOP is hoping for (or the FReepers, see below). It's just that a) the leading Republicans are outlandish cartoon characters, b) the Tea Baggers have made conservatives seem loony, c) the racism homophobia and basic ass-hattery that has been bubbling under the surface is starting erupt, and d) it is hard to sustain this level of anger and invective after a law has passed. Especially if all of the doom-and-gloom predicted does not come to pass. Which it won't.

It never does. From women's suffrage to civil rights to Medicare to gay marriage, all of the GOP-lead fear mongering has never been borne out. I read somewhere on the interwebs that the Republicans really should adopt a paraphrased FDR quote as a motto: "We have nothing but fear itself." I think it fits.

[Excerpt]

The GOP Health Care Debacle

By late afternoon, the debate was just for show. The outcome was a foregone conclusion after the White House clinched an agreement with Michigan's Bart Stupak earlier in the day. Still, the GOP was intent on getting in its last licks during the general debate. And they made the best of the opportunity. . .

Read more at: CBS News


Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Birther Madness, Teabaggers and Townhalls Gone Wild!

I really do wonder if any of this silly behavior is winning converts, or if it is embarrassing to conservatives by and large. I hope "embarrassing" though they seem to have lost the ability to be embarrassed lately. I mean after Tom DeLay, Michelle Bachamann, Sarah Palin--not to mention eight years of George W. "new-que-lerr" Bush--can they even feel it anymore?

Monday, February 2, 2009

Sarah Palin the Great Hope of the GOP?


Photo from source, Wonkette

I've kind of dropped my fascination with the awesome badness that is Sarah Palin for a little while, but I had to post a link to this piece, for the headline, and the snarkiness in the article. I couldn't help it, after all these years, also too, though. Also.

[Excerpt]

Republicans Firmly Committed To Losing More Elections

Republicans have made the only conclusion possible about their party following the electoral repudiation of an ancient war hero who ran on the “not a Negro” platform and chose as his running mate a proud religious nutjob ignoramus with a bubble of methane where her brain should be: they have decided their party keeps losing because they aren’t conservative enough. . .

Read more at: Wonkette


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...